Topic 3 – Reflection of building a professional digital profile

Prior to this module, I was always doubtful about the importance of social media and how it affects us in both professional and personal ways. However, with this topic I have realised the extent of social media affects our career journey.

Valerie had shared various infographics in her post and there was one that leave a deep impression with me.

image1.PNG

Source: Valerie on her post about Topic 3

The above illustration had dictated the consequences on an individual’s career if they publish any negative remarks on the social media. As students, we will often neglect the need of maintaining digital reputation, and proceed to post comments that we want. However, based on the above, I have realised the importance of upholding our digital reputation.

social-media-8

Source: Adweek

Apart from our comments, I have also learned from Joey that we should refrain ourselves from publishing inappropriate posts from our personal life. Certain images that we post may reflect badly on us when the employers are viewing it.

Another thing I have realised is that some classmates (e.g. Joey) have mentioned about LinkedIn when it comes to building a professional profile.

However, is LinkedIn the only professional website to connect recruiters and its potential employees? 

With this budding thought, I have went to research about other recruitment websites and found Sumry

http://mashable.com/videos/embed?video=3141692355001&player=offsite

Source: Melissa, G. from Mashable

Sumry has created an engaging interface that helps recruiters and job-seekers to locate jobs interestingly. They deliver the idea of ‘telling one’s story’ rather than just posting a professional photo, qualifications and more.

The feedbacks that Sumry has received about its interface is amazing!

Screen Shot 2016-11-10 at 9.08.32 PM.png

Source: Sumry

To conclude, initially I was fixated on the steps to build an authentic professional digital profile that I have neglected many other aspects. However, after reading my classmates’ blogs, I was able to learn about other important factors and even research further about social recruiting platform!

(word count: 301)

Please click on the names to be directed to the comments that I have posted on Joey‘s and Valerie‘s.

 

 

 

Leave a comment